The Goals of the SFAR

The S.F.A.R. Société Française d’Anesthésie et de Réanimation (French Society of Anesthesia and Intensive Care) is an association according French 1901 law, whose public usefulness has been acknowledged. Its goals are the study, the progress and the teaching of Anesthesia and Intensive Care.

To these three statutory goals, la S.F.A.R. has added in 1988 the safety of anesthesia and intensive care.

The means of action of the Society are notably :

  1. Organization of scientific meetings : National Congress, Consensus meetings, Experts meetings, etc…
  2. Publication of a journal : « Annales Françaises d’Anesthésie et de Réanimation ».
  3. Edition of books : Recommendations of the S.F.A.R.,
  4. Giving of grants and prizes : Grants of research and studies, Contracts for research etc…
  5. Constitution of committees.


Former Presidents of the SFAR

Société Française d’Etude de l’Anesthésie et de l’Analgésie 1934-1945 Antonin GOSSET
1946 Pierre FREDET
1947-1951 Robert MONOD
1952-1954 Auguste TOURNAY
1955-1957 Louis AMIOT
Société Française d’Anesthésie, d’Analgésie et de Réanimation 1958-1961 Jacques BOUREAU
1962-1963 Nadia DU BOUCHET
1964-1972 Louis LARENG
1973-1975 Jean-Pierre GAUTHIER-LAFAYE
1976-1978 Jean LASSNER
1979-1981 Charles ROUET
Société Française d’Anesthésie et de Réanimation 1982-1983 Claude WINCKLER
1984-1985 Pierre MAESTRACCI
1986-1987 Bernard DIXNEUF
1988-1989 Jean-Marie DESMONTS
1990-1991 Bernard DU GRES
1992-1993 Philippe SCHERPEREEL
1994-1995 Marie-Claire LAXENAIRE
1996-1997 Christian CONSEILLER
1998-1999 Géry BOULARD
2000-2001 André LIENHART
2002-2004 Michel PINAUD
2004 Jean MARTY